“Paresis Hall”, was located in the Bowery on 5th Street near Cooper Union Run by ‘Biff’ Ellison, a gangster affiliated with the Five Points Gang. No attempt to disguise it as anything other than a ‘fairy resort”. A gay brothel.
During the 1890′s the area around fourteenth street was an early
“Tenderloin” section to the theater district a few blocks away. The area
boasted no fewer than six other “Resorts”. Paresis Hall being the
busiest, Little Bucks, Manilla Hall, The Slide and the Sharon Hotel (Cock Sucker’s Hall) just to name a few.
Johny was one of the most popular boys at both of the clubs, given the fact of some unique "Anotomical Gifts".
About the name:The official name of the establishment was Columbia Hall.
“Paresis” was a partial or incomplete paralysis.
With a typical sense of queer humor, this brothel became known as “Paresis Hall”.